Aerosol metrology for atmospheric science and air quality

Short Name: AEROMET, Project Number: 16ENV07
Image showing a bright green meadow with mountains in the distance
Fresh green meadow in mountains

Improved measurements will support the enforcement and introduction of air pollution regulation to protect European citizens

Accurate measurements of airborne particles are vital for enforcing EU air quality regulations aimed at protecting human health and understanding and limiting the effects of climate change.

Current methods for the measurement of mass of PM10 and PM2.5 (airborne particles less than 10 and 2.5 microns in diameter, respectively) specified by the Air Quality Directive need improving to ensure results given by instruments based on different working principles (such as gravimetric and optical measurement) can be compared.

In addition, knowledge of the size and number concentration of unregulated nanoscale ultra-fine particles (UFP) is needed as a prerequisite to any future regulatory limits.


This project will use results from EMRP project ENV02 PartEmission to support CEN standardization on EU guidelines for PM and UFP measurement by improving the uncertainty of particle mass, size and number concentration measurements.

It will also support the characterization of regulated components in airborne particles as needed by Europe’s air quality networks to better understand health risks, and local and global trends.


EMPIR project 19ENV08 AEROMET II builds on this work.


Project website
Interaction of nanoparticle properties and X-ray analytical techniques

Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry

Real-time pollen monitoring using digital holography

Atmospheric Measurement Techniques

Other Participants
Bruker Nano GmbH (Germany)
Centro de investigaciones energeticas, medioambientales y tecnologicas (Spain)
Energiatudományi Kutatóközpont (Hungary)
FORCE Technology (Denmark)
Institut de Radioprotection et de Surete Nucleaire (France)
Institut Jožef Stefan (Slovenia)
Leibniz Institut fuer Troposphaerenforschung e.V. (Germany)
Lunds Universitet (Sweden)
National Technical University of Athens - NTUA (Greece)
Teknologisk Institut (Denmark)
Universita Degli Studi del Piemonte Orientale ""Amedeo Avogadro"" (Italy)
Università degli Studi di Cassino e del Lazio Meridionale (Italy)