The gateway to Europe's
integrated metrology community.

Organisational Structure of EURAMET

General Assembly (GA)
The General Assembly (GA) is the highest authority and decision making body of EURAMET. Each member is represented by one Delegate on the GA. The Representatives of National Metrology Institutes (NMIs) applying for membership and of the JRC-IRMM have observer status in the GA.

EURAMET has one Chairperson and 2 Vice-Chairpersons, who are elected for a period of three years. The Chairpersons are the legal representatives of the organisation.

Board of Directors (BoD)
The Board of Directors is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of EURAMET. It is composed of the three Chairpersons, and six elected members out of the Delegates.

Technical Committees (TC)
The technical work of EURAMET is coordinated in 12 Technical Committees. Members and Associates have the right to participate in the work of TCs via contact persons or observers. TC Contact persons are appointed by the national delegates. One contact person per country can be appointed to each TC. Each TC is chaired by a TC-Chair who is elected by the General Assembly (GA).

Technical Sub-Committees (SC) may be established within each TC. Members and Associates have the right to participate in the work of SCs via contact persons or observers.

European Metrology Networks (EMN)
12 EMNs collate and understand the needs of stakeholders to improve the collaboration of EURAMET members in horizontal fields which are of key importance at the European level.  EURAMET Members and Associates have the right to participate in the work of EMNs as members. Stakeholders may join the EMNs as Partners. Each EMN is chaired by an EMN Chair and an EMN Vice-chair. Additionally, certain EMNs are organised into sections, each overseen by appointed EMN Vice-chairs.­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

EMPIR Committee
The EMPIR Committee is the decision making body for all matters concerning the execution of joint research programmes like the European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research (EMPIR) and the European Metrology Research Programme (EMRP). Each member participating in EMPIR or EMRP has one representative. The Chair of the EMPIR Committee is one of the two Vice-Chairpersons of EURAMET.

Research Council
The Research Council acts as EURAMET's advisory board in matters relating to the EMPIR and EMRP. The Representatives consist of institutional and personal members, drawn from the external stakeholder community.

EURAMET has a permanent Secretariat, located in Braunschweig, Germany. The Secretariat supports EURAMET and its members in the execution of its functions and pursuit of its objectives.