New EURAMET Vice-Chairperson (EMPIR) elected

EURAMET is happy to announce that Erkki Ikonen (VTT and Aalto, Finland) was elected as new EURAMET Vice-Chairperson (EMPIR) at the December EMPIR Committee held in Prague.

"On behalf of EURAMET and the EMPIR Committee I would like to congratulate Erkki to his election. Erkki has already contributed greatly to EMRP and EMPIR during the past years, for example in his position as Deputy EMRP Chair. I wish him all the best for his new responsibility", said Jörn Stenger (PTB, Germany), current EURAMET Vice-Chairperson (EMPIR).

Erkki has been Professor in Measurement Science and Technology at Aalto University since 1995 and at MIKES (now VTT) since 2005. He has also been part of the EURAMET community for more than 20 years, where he started as member of EUROMET's Technical Committee for Photometry and Radiometry. In 2007 he joined the EMRP Committee (and now the EMPIR Committee) as a Representative and took over responsibility as Deputy Chair from 2007 to 2013. He was elected as member of the EMPIR Sub-Committee on Research for the term from 2014 to 2017.

Erkki will start his term in January 2016 and replaces Jörn who held the position for six years. Jörn was one of the main architects of the EMRP and its successor programme EMPIR. EURAMET would like to express its sincere thanks and gratitude to Jörn for his great commitment and his important contributions to the development of European metrology.

Select your area of interest