

G08.08

Report from Delegates Only Session

Kamal Hossain, EURAMET Chairperson

8th EURAMET General Assembly Cavtat, Croatia, 4 June 2014

EURAMET Membership



New Designated Institutes were accepted as Associates of EURAMET (A-DI):

1) Laboratory for Analytical Chemistry (UGent-LAC), Belgium MC (Clinical Chemistry)

2) MBW Calibration AG (MBW), Switzerland T (Humidity)

3) National Gear Metrology Laboratory (NGML), UK L (Gear Metrology)

Elections: Chairperson



Beat Jeckelmann (METAS, Switzerland)

elected as EURAMET Chairperson

for the period from 06/2015 to 05/2018

Elections: BoD Members



Elected BoD Members:

Maguelonne Chambon France new member

Pavel Klenovsky
Czech Republic new member

Current BoD Members: TODAY

Status	Name		2013		20	14		15	2016		2017		2018	
Chairperson	K. Hossain	UK	Cha	airpers	son			P.Ch.						
Vicechair	J. Drnovsek	SI			Vice	Chair	(GA)							
Vicechair	J. Stenger	DE			ΕN	RP-C	nair					=		
Chair-elect	B. Jeckelmann	СН				Ch.E			Ch	airper	son			
Member	Z. Dzemic	ВА		1st								\perp		
Member	M. Chambon	СН				1st								
Member	J. Petersen	DK		1st										
Member	M. L. Rastello	IT		1st										
Member	J.Á. Robles	ES		2nd										
Member	P. Klenovsky	CZ				1st								



Proposal to create a new post of

General Secretary, EURAMET

Why do we need the new post?



a) EURAMET has been transformed as an organisation since it was created in 2007; now has 37 member countries with more than 100 NMIs and DIs;

- a) No longer an informal Association of members, but a legal entity managing a substantial budget, in excess of 1 billion euros, involving members and Associates and also many external organisations across the globe; a huge responsibility of not just managing lawful spend but demonstrating outcome and benefits of public investment to Governments and the EU;
- b) performing the tasks of a Regional Metrology Organisation (RMO) with the objective of worldwide mutual recognition of national measurement standards and of calibration and measurement certificates; a huge responsibility to review quality assurance of over 100 Laboratories;
- c) Need for stronger engagement with many key stakeholders;

Why do we need the new post (2)



- e) Currently has a Secretariat including MSU with more than 20 members of staff
- f) Elected members of the Board supervise the work of EURAMET staff on a voluntary basis and are not always able to ensure or take proper responsibility for EURAMET operations and obligations.
- g) This means positions of Board Members, particularly Chairpersons, are not equally accessible to all countries even if very able individuals, suitable to occupy these posts, are available;
- h) Currently the Chairpersons and Board members have to spend time on operational matters thereby restricting their abilities to concentrate on governance and strategic matters;
- i) That EMRP and EMPIR are Programmes which belong to EURAMET for the benefit of all its members cannot be clearly recognised under the current operating regime; there is much to be gained by a better integrated operation in line with the objectives of the Programme. This should in no way take away the envisaged responsibilities of the EMPIR Committee. Establishment of the proposed General Secretary post will help us achieve this;

Decision on new post



The GA agrees to the proposal of the BoD to

- create the new post of General Secretary as described in the letter of the Chairman of 19 May 2014,
- approve the job description given, and
- accept, in principle, the envisaged structure along the lines as described.

New EURAMET Task Groups



The GA approved the establishment of 2 new Task Groups

- TG for Environment
- TG for Energy

After GA: Actual start of the TG

- Convenors as decided by BoD:
 - Gert Rietveld (TG Energy)
 - Andrea Merlone (TG Environment)
- Composition confirmed by BoD (see next slides)
- BoD contact person for the TGs
 - Jan Petersen(TG Energy)
 - Maria Luisa Rastello (TG Environment)
- Kick-off meeting of TG: discussion ToR, activity plan coming year(s), first roadmapping action, drafting of SRA

TG Energy – members

as confirmed by BoD



- Gert Rietveld (VSL (NL) Convenor, Electricity, Smart Grids, senior metrologist
- 2. Helmut Többen (PTB (DE)) Head of gas flow group at PTB, knowledgeable in Gas and Wind energy
- 3. Francisco Javier Lezaun Navarro (ENAGAS (ES)) Oil&Gas company, industrial expert, chemistry background, LNG
- 4. Martti Heinonen (MIKES (FI)) Head of Thermal&Mass group, experience and network in gas, biomass, energy harvesting
- 5. Marco Carlo Masoero (Univ of Turino + Dept of Energy (IT)) Head of Energy group, experience in renewables
- Johan Söderbom (SP (SE)) Electricity, extensive background in (international) Energy and Power industry, worked last 10 years as R&D manager Vattenfall
- 7. Rob Reid (NPL (UK)) focus on measurement needs of Energy sector, materials for energy applications
- 8. Jean-Rémy Filtz (LNE (FR)) Head of optics and energy group
- ⇒ Good coverage of expertise, geography, large/small NMIs, NMI-Uni-Industry

TG Environment – members

as confirmed by BoD



- IT Andrea Merlone (INRIM, Convenor, Thermal measurements)
- 2. NL Annarita Baldan (VSL, Chemistry)
- 3. PL Ryszard Broda (POL, Ionizing Radiation
- 4. UK Richard Brown (NPL, Gas & particle metrology)
- 5. CH Bertrand Calpini (Meteorology)
- 6. SE Ragne Emardson (SP, Environmental monitoring, remote sensing)
- 7. ES Carmen Garcia (CEM, meteorological instrumentation, industrial expert)
- 8. CH Julian Groebner (WMO, Solar radiation)
- DE Bernd Güttler (PTB, Chemistry)

EURAMET General Assembly 2015



Krakow, Poland

1 to 5 June 2015